Praying Mantis

I found this “little” guy on the hood babyprayingmantisof my car, probably eating all the tree pollen that had fallen all over my car.  I wonder if he knows how rare he is.  He was big but he was definitely a baby.  Luckily the Sun was blazign, and my car – pollen aside – relatively clean, so I got his shadow (that reminds me of a star) and his relfection, which oddly looks more featured than the actual praying mantis.  Every time I see one, which is rare, I can’t help but look closely at it like I’m studying some prehistoric animal that time forgot.  Their movements are like animated origami, whatever that is – it’s the only way I can explain it.  Delicate as they are, you can’t help but feel like they are older and wiser than the Earth itself.  In “Enter the Dragon” with Bruce Lee there was a scene where old men pitted praying mantis against praying mantis in a sort of cock fight and they were betting on the winner.  Very interesting.

 
Baby Praying Mantis
Leave a Reply

