Orchid Moment

Orchid Moment – You know when you first move somewhere, you have to try really hard to find all the little treasures that life in your new environment holds – all the places that the locals know is there but never go to because they assume it will always be there  – until one day it’s gone?  Well I wasn’t going to let my new move keep me locked up in the house despite a heavy writing deadline – I’ve lived on the border of SC and NC for a whole month  now and I’ve seen the supermarket, the gas station and the inside of my laptop and one local bar – if you look at life that way – living anywhere can be exactly as living somewhere else.  Luckily a friend from “home” came to visit, so my friend that lives here and I made some special plans for her birthday week (or few days) here – and I suggested something that had caught my eye on the day I moved here – I drove past the Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden and said – I want to go there.  When I lived in New York, the Brooklyn Botanical Garden was a place I visited often – it always looked different in different seasons and it was so engaging – when I went to visit family in Sarasota, the Selby Gardens was the absolute height of one of my visits (and my step neice had her wedding there – how awesome).  So of we went three girls who grew up outdoors, walking in parks and down  canals and through woods – it was a nice step back in time and a marvelous first-journey for me and my Kodak.  We didn’t get to stay long, because we had other plans as well, but we did take a walk for a few acres and it was cool and crisp out (weather my friend from back east no doubt brought with her because up until that day it was 70 degrees out) but it felt like fall and it was so beautiful.  We did visit one indoor exhibit – the Orchid house – full of orchids and all sorts of treasures, which I’ll share with you soon.  This beauty just begged me to photograph her – she was obviously born to be adored – look at the colors and the folds of the pedals – beautiful – just beautiful.  Getting away from “life” and getting lost in a garden is one of the best ways to recall old memories, have a few laughs and forget about all the BS for a while.  No pressure, no rush.  Daniel Stowe Botanical is huge – it’s over 10 acres that you can walk all the way to Lake Wylie – another beautiful phenomenon of this marvelous place –  I’m one lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

