Halloween on St. Patrick’s Day – Why Not?

smallreflection2“Velcome – Ahahaha” Strange I know but I picked up an old craft recently and it got me thinking about the projects I’ve done in the past. All I could find of all my work were some old photos of these Halloween luminaries I made out of recycled candle containers, some carefully un-plied napkins, a little decoupage glue and a helluva lot of glitter. I don’t know where this stuff comes from.

I used to have a lot of crafty ambitions, jewelry making, putting acrylic paint on well, just about everything – light switches, the porcelain light fixtures screwed to the ceiling. Hey you have to take them down sometimes and wash them up, maybe change a bulb or two, why not paint them while you’re at it. I have to say, I did like the way they turned out. Don’t know why I didn’t shoot that as well.

sparkle2

I think the most fun I had in making these was the semi-pro (LOL) photo shoot which took place on the bathroom counter of my one bedroom shack at the time. Believe me when I tell you the bathroom was the nicest room in the house, but I’ve moved on – literally, so we’ll leave that alone.

I had taken these with my old Kodak Z1085 – that was the best camera (still have it – not working at the moment). I played with lights on, lights off, flash, no flash, distortion. Yes, you would have thought I worked for Ann Taylor or Vogue and there were 7,000 shots to be taken for the new spring line – lights, camera, action.

shadowyfigures2 The beads were actually my favorite part – big Halloween skull beads that were way too heavy to do much of anything else with.  I thought my reflective counter top shots were the coolest.  I’m getting quite a chuckle laughing at myself.3litwhite2I’d show you my “before and after” picture, but the angle I took it at makes them look like they’re falling off of a curved countertop.  It’s embarrassing.  I know … The earth is round, the countertop is flat – I’ll get it some day.

Thanks for indulging me – especially since it’s totally holiday-inappropriate, but that’s me – quirky, spontaneous (sometimes aka moody) and constantly testing the waters in crafts, writing and photography (sometimes aka ADD).

As soon as my Achilles tendon is fully back in swing, trust me, I’ll be bothering you with more (and more-recent) photos. I’ve got an itchy trigger finger. Perhaps a trip to the South Carolina shoreline.  It’s time to get back outside already – today it was sunny, breezy and 70-something.  But soon … Happy Halloween and oh, Happy St. Patrick’s Day too!

Our regularly scheduled photography will resume shortly.

(Does anyone know how I get “categories” back in my “edit post” screen?)

2 thoughts on “Halloween on St. Patrick’s Day – Why Not?

Leave a Reply

