Georgia’s Still on My Mind

View from Congress St.

Travelling was, is and will always be totally awesome. Honestly, I wish I had discovered this love of going places much earlier in life, but I doubt that I would have appreciated it this much. Funny thing is I’m the quintessential home lover. I would opt out of martini for the sake of being able to drive myself home and sleep in my own bed. And trust me, I haven’t seen one one-millionth of the world yet, but it doesn’t matter, I get to see and experience places through my blogger friends, places I never even knew existed with photos so breathtaking that I feel like I’ve been there too.  I hope these photos give you a taste of Savannah’s southern charm.

So while I’m on the subject, please excuse some of my Savannah pics if they’re not perfecto – It was a quick trip, well, more like a drive-by with a few blocks of walking.  Here are the houses and the B&B pictures I promised.  We’re taking a break from GA tomorrow and heading to the Gulf of Mexico in Florida – bring your sunglasses.

Andrew Low House 1848

Andrew Low House – 1848

I love the craftsmanship on this front door.

Hamilton-Turner Inn

Hamilton-Turner Inn

I really need to get photo software and another lens, but anyway … This is the Hamilton-Turner Inn and I can’t completely convey to  you how this entrance way just says “Come in and stay a while,” which is what they really want you to feel – at about $250 a night.  Hey, if ya’ got it … I wasn’t feeling so flush at the moment.  If you click on the link, you can read the history of the house and checkout their rooms, etc.  For me, the most interesting part of its history was this:

“…The house was embroiled  in scandal under the management of Joe Odom. His raucous parties—made  famous through the John Berendt book Midnight  in the Garden of Good and Evil …”

Hamilton-TurnerInn.com

Architecture

I’m totally ignoring the fact that there is a “no parking” sign in my shot – I hope you will too.  But check out the view of the church in the background and the double porch on the other side of the house.

doorway2

I wish I had spent more time here – to really get the full essence of Savannah, but I’m sure I’ll go again.  Preferably with a friend so I can snap pictures from the passenger side.  I did get to walk around a bit, but you can’t do Savannah in one day let alone a couple of hours.

Speaking of travel – when I got home on Friday my roommate, another friend and I planned a one-night weekend in Charleston, SC – I’ve never been there and it’s only a few hours away.  I’m learning that sometimes travel just happens.

Sundial

Sundial

Oh, look at the time.  I have to run.  See you in Florida tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

