Looking Back

After yesterday’s post, I decided to look back at old photos (from 2012/2013) to get me back in the groove of getting out there with my camera.  I wanted to recapture that inspired feeling.  Like crafts and art, photography is my Zen – it’s my outlet:  it all keeps me sane.  I think that’s why even though I love oceans and architecture and everything in between – my real peace is found in seeing green.  I think the thing that scares me more than anything is that I came from a place that used to be hugely green and now it’s full of housing developments that leave practically no natural elements.  And I see that happening here now too.  I guess it’s easier to drive a bulldozer through a stretch of nature than it is to go around it.  Photographing things that may not be here tomorrow is my way of preserving beautiful landscapes.  I can’t imagine being someone who never gets to feel the peace of looking out and seeing nothing but nature as far as the eye can see.  So here’s more green stuff and more old structures.  Indulge me.  And if I’ve repeated any photos here, then I guess they bear repeating.

As Far as the Eye Can See

As Far as the Eye Can See

Dualing Barns

Dualing Barns

Instead of old buildings, I see history.

God Bless America

God Bless America

I saw on Facebook how everyone is posting pics holding the American flag and it made think of this photo taken in 2012.  I’m happy to say that this structure is still standing today.  I’m all for modern conveniences, but a little preservation goes a long way in my book.

StationI’m glad I got this shot when I did.  Although the gas station is still standing and the house next to it still abandoned, the back building (on the left) has suffered some real weather-related damage.  I keep thinking this will be taken down before long, but as of today, it’s still standing.

Some people call me a “city girl” but there’s a little bit of country in here too.

2 thoughts on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

