Patio Occupado

I was taking a break from work this afternoon and thought about sitting on the patio for a while to get some fresh air and clear my head before doing some readings this afternoon and maybe finishing up some writing assignments.  The door leading to my patio is one of those with the blinds inside the glass and I had the blinds lowered but open.  As I went for the doorknob, I noticed a bird on my patio railing, and then two.  The second didn’t stay long, but the first one seemed content where he/she was.  I started taking pictures through the blinds.  I have waited maybe three years to catch a bird on my railing and being that I call my apartment the birdhouse because of all the birds flying around, it was bound to happen soon or later.  The amazing thing is that I slowly lifted the blinds but it didn’t scare the bird.  In fact he/she watched as I raised them, and when I was done, he/she looked straight at me.  I wanted to open the door; I felt like maybe it wouldn’t fly away, but then I decided on building a little trust first.  These shots were taken through a glass door, but I wish there had been nothing between me and this curious bird.  Maybe next time.

Birdy 2Birdy 3Birdy 4

Does anyone know what kind of bird this is?  After a few reverse image searches that came up with “bird” (duh) – Thanks Google – I gave up.

That distinct white strip lipstick line is funny when viewed face-on – almost giving it a face that looks like a scowl and remarkably like a face that I viewed as familiar.  I knew a guy that always had that face on even when he was happy – he just didn’t realize it. Maybe this was him visiting from the other side.  I can’t discount it.

Leave a Reply

